Help with probe z setting....

Having problems with or questions about SheetCam? Post them here.
Davek0974

Help with probe z setting....

Post by Davek0974 »

Hi all, first post, I'm building a plasma table with sheetcam and mach3 and want to add auto material sensing with a floating head, I want to ref the material before every M3 command.

I have been searching and found I can use the "mach3with THC and scriber" post processor and that seems to do what I need but when I mentioned it over in the mach forum they advised me not to use it because it uses axis offsets and these remain in place after the job is run and can upset further jobs unless a G92.1 code is issued to reset the offsets at the end of a job.

So what I am asking is, are they right, am I just fused or does the post processor work as it should?

I am very new to this and learning a lot but having been advised on the mach forum to just go and search is very helpful!

All I want is for the torch to ref the material before every cut starts.

Any help will be much appreciated.

Thanks
Dave
Les Newell
Site Admin

Post by Les Newell »

Yes it does use axis offsets but this is not a problem. The only time you need to be a bit careful is if you switch from thin material to much thicker material (e.g going from 1/4" to 1/2"). As the code does not know you have switched, it may run the torch too low for the first move. The easy solution to this problem is to jog the torch down until it is close to the surface then zero the Z axis.

There are hundreds of people using this post or variations of it.
Davek0974

Post by Davek0974 »

Thanks Les, but wouldn't the probe switch tell it the thickness has changed?
Les Newell
Site Admin

Post by Les Newell »

When you change from thin material to thick material it is possible that the torch will hit the work before it starts probing. This can only happen on the first probing cycle after you change thickness. After that it will be fine.