Modify Post Processor

Hi, I have little knowledge of how PP’s work but was wondering if one could be modified to do the following:

Insert B .** in the code on the same line everywhere X .** occurs and duplicate the X values into the B word ?

So this code:
X2 Y2
X4 Y0
X2 Y-2
X0 Y0

Would come out like this:
X2 B2 Y2
X4 B4 Y0
X2 B2 Y-2
X0 B0 Y0

I have no idea if this is possible but am very curious. :confused:
Thanks
:slight_smile:

Yes that is pretty easy do do. Why do you want to do it?

I am planning to build a gantry type mill/router out of materials on hand.
I have 2 ball screws for the long axis that are of different pitch. Being they cannot be slaved, I was thinking of setting them up as individual axis’s, then process the code as above so the two would work in sync together. There is a function in Mach, RefCombination, that I suppose would allow the two to Home together. “X” and “B” would be parallel to each other, “Y” perpendicular and “A” would be a rotary axis.
Do you think this would work ?
Thanks for looking Les,

As long as you can get homing working correctly I can’t see an issue with this. If you need the post done for you, let me know.

I would like to experiment with this further.
If you would kindly modify the Mach3 Inch MILL PP for me. it would be greatly appreciated !
Also, if you wouldn’t mind to, please highlight the areas that are added/modified (comment with descriptions) so I might get a grasp of how the PP functions.
You can send it offline if you wish.
Thanks MUCH !

Hi Les, I just stumbled onto this at the Mach forum:
http://www.machsupport.com/forum/index.php/topic,17153.0.html
I thought I had an original idea, imagine that. :unamused:
I supose 549 is correct in that this should be corrected mechanically, but I could never afford to purchase a screw to match one of these that I have. They were picked as NEW surplus very cheap.
Thanks again,