Hello from a cnc newbie and editing code in software?

Having problems with or questions about SheetCam? Post them here.
djberg

Hello from a cnc newbie and editing code in software?

Post by djberg »

So first thing's first, thank you Les I think you're the brains behind this software, and at least for me and my current search of a cam software to suite what I need, this is the best balance of intuitive and code exported in a streamlined manor(far better than fusion360 anyways).

So a bit about me, I'm a manual machinist by hobby(garage full of ww2 era machines) and trade( i grind roll tooling on an o.d. grinder, plus now am doing all machining scenarios in our shop, 99.5% manual work), but there's one old Bridgeport series 2 interact 2 controlled by a Hiedenhain tnc 155 that was once upon a time used for cutting out templates for the diaform I use to dress shapes into grinding wheels. We do not get brand new orders very often, almost ever maybe a new shape every 3-5 years, so the machine doesn't do much of anything other than cutting tensile strength test pieces for one company, that code i could write in hiedenhain conversational no biggie, but these foil(turbine fin) shapes are a whole other story lol.

So the current situation is this...

Ive been working at getting a drip feed scenario going, but i am at a wall, and am starting to think that at some point years back that how ever they were feeding code into the machine,but it stopped working, and I'm really wondering of it is not an issue in the controller it's self. Since anything in the last 10 years that has been done with the machine had been coded by the previous engineer(now retired, gone and will not help anyone anymore), and was input by the previous machinist, who had very few notes on what happened, and he has passed now as well. So here i am trying to wrap my head around everything.