Lead in and lead out with line cutting and tab holding.

Request and discuss new features
D3workz

Lead in and lead out with line cutting and tab holding.

Post by D3workz »

Hello people.

So, I am new to sheetcam but I am coming from a Fusion360 back ground. I ve been using Fusion for over three years and I finally made the switch to SheetCAM which with out any hesitation its by far more superior for plasma operations.... However I am a bit disappointed as to why sheetcam does not include lead in and lead out when cutting just a line or with the holding tabs function (I ve been trying everything LOL).

If there was nothing great about Fusion, the holding tabs option was really refined. Is it possible that none of you guys use holding tabs or lets call them multiple starts on same object? And if you use the holding tabs as is currently in sheetcam, do you stop your torch and re fire your torch on your edge of the part that you are cutting?!!

Also, is it possible that one cannot import a simple line and decide if the tool path includes the kerf width, i.e. apart from cutting on the center of the line, one chooses to start on the outside or on the inside of the line (I mean when it is not a closed polyline/object).

To say everything, I did manage to create a proper ''holding tab'' by using perpendicular lead in and lead out with a negative overcut (this would lead out and stop the torch away for the part's edge and pierces away from the edge and leads into the original cutting line, thus no divets induced but leaves a tiny tab to be cut with a grinder later). Now, if this could be made as an option for ''multiple start points'' thought out the part, one could cut long and narrow parts without denting the edge from the pierce and minimize warping and bending as the part would be held at intervals with the stock material.

Finally in lieu of all the above, it could be that I have missed something in sheetcam and I am reading the holding tabs function wrong!!