Replace part with updated part

Having problems with or questions about SheetCam? Post them here.
Post Reply
David_Lelen01
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2018 8:18 pm
Location: South Carolina, USA
Contact:

Replace part with updated part

Post by David_Lelen01 » Wed Oct 02, 2019 1:29 pm

Is it possible to replace a part in a job file with an updated version of the part? I created a job and sent it to the machine to be cut. The customer has requested a dimension be changed slightly, luckily before the part was actually cut. I was wondering if since i have the job already set up with the operations and lead-in locations, is it possible to replace the existing part with a updated copy of the part or is it best to start from scratch?

User avatar
Les Newell
Site Admin
Posts: 2313
Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 8:12 pm

Re: Replace part with updated part

Post by Les Newell » Wed Oct 02, 2019 1:42 pm

Yup. If you have a multi-part job make sure the correct part is selected. Now File->import drawing. When the drawing options box pops up make sure you select 'current position'. As long as the dimensions are close the start points, tabs etc should be mapped to the new drawing.

David_Lelen01
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2018 8:18 pm
Location: South Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: Replace part with updated part

Post by David_Lelen01 » Wed Oct 02, 2019 2:18 pm

Awesome! That's perfect! Thanks Les!

motoguy
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 12:02 am

Re: Replace part with updated part

Post by motoguy » Thu Oct 17, 2019 7:25 pm

Just a heads up, MAKE SURE that you have the proper part highlighted, or you can import a drawing of a completely wrong part. lol

Post Reply