Plasma drill

Request and discuss new features
User avatar
Les Newell
Site Admin
Posts: 2026
Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 8:12 pm

Re: Plasma drill

Post by Les Newell » Tue Jul 03, 2018 4:09 pm

I found the problem. Linux file names are case sensitive and Windows file names are not. It will be fixed in the next release.

TorchMax
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2018 11:27 pm

Re: Plasma drill

Post by TorchMax » Sun Aug 12, 2018 1:53 am

Hi,
Are there any updates to this? The modified post for CommandCNC is not working.
If we could just go through and pierce the holes, clean the pierce slag off the plate, and then cut with new consumables life would be good!

User avatar
Les Newell
Site Admin
Posts: 2026
Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 8:12 pm

Re: Plasma drill

Post by Les Newell » Mon Aug 13, 2018 10:25 am

What problems are you having with the post?

TorchMax
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2018 11:27 pm

Re: Plasma drill

Post by TorchMax » Mon Aug 13, 2018 11:25 pm

It makes it to line 12 with "unexpected Character after O-word. It does appear to go to the 1st location and stop.
Unexpected Character after O-word.jpg
Unexpected Character after O-word.jpg (399.62 KiB) Viewed 168 times

User avatar
Les Newell
Site Admin
Posts: 2026
Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 8:12 pm

Re: Plasma drill

Post by Les Newell » Tue Aug 14, 2018 2:54 pm

I just checked and the format looks correct for LinuxCNC. Are you using LinuxCNC?

TorchMax
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2018 11:27 pm

Re: Plasma drill

Post by TorchMax » Tue Aug 14, 2018 5:25 pm

Yes I have CommandCNC from CandCNC.

User avatar
Les Newell
Site Admin
Posts: 2026
Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 8:12 pm

Re: Plasma drill

Post by Les Newell » Fri Aug 17, 2018 12:43 pm

I think I have found the problem. Try this version.
Attachments
THC_pre-pierce_LinuxCNC.scpost
(4.29 KiB) Downloaded 7 times

TorchMax
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2018 11:27 pm

Re: Plasma drill

Post by TorchMax » Fri Aug 17, 2018 10:56 pm

I just tried the new post and it didn't work. It loads and when I push "run" in CommandCNC nothing happens. In the bottom left corner it says "Must use G0 or G1 with G53"
I edited the g code file by removing G53 and run the file again the machine worked as normal and it made the first pierce successfully but after making the second touch off the torch didn't fire and it continued to the 3rd point and it pierce successfully. The machine continued by this sequence up to the end of g code file.

User avatar
Les Newell
Site Admin
Posts: 2026
Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 8:12 pm

Re: Plasma drill

Post by Les Newell » Tue Aug 21, 2018 11:38 am

If you edit the post you can remove the G53. It is on line 51.

I can't see any reason why it would only pierce every second cut start. It could be that the pierce delay is too short for your machine. Try increasing it. If you still can't get it to work post a copy of the g-code file here so I can take a look at it.

Post Reply