cnc plasma, help!

Having problems with or questions about SheetCam? Post them here.
agrifabs

cnc plasma, help!

Post by agrifabs »

Evening all, I am a novice when it cones to Cnc plasma cutters. I've got sheetcam and mach3, I've done a basic drawing in sheetcam and followed the tutorial, I've then put it into mach 3, when I start the cut it dies all the movements but doesn't activate the plasma cutter - the relay on the breakout board operates the plasma manually with no problem, how do I make sheetcam or mach3 know when to turn the plasma on and off?

regards

chris
WyoGreen

Post by WyoGreen »

Generally, the post you use in Sheetcam is tailored to your controller. I use a CandCNC controller with Mach3, and my posts are written by CandCNC. There are dozens of posts in sheetcam to operate a wide range of equipment. You might let us know what equipment you are using and we may be able to give you a better idea of what to use. Are you using the Mach3 post in Sheetcam to process your design to g-code?

Steve
Les Newell
Site Admin

Post by Les Newell »

Go to Options->machine->post processor and select the 'Mach3 plasma' post processor. This is the simplest plasma post and is the best one to use when you are first setting a machine up.

In Mach3 set up your plasma relay on the 'spindle clockwise' output. In the spindle setup make sure the spindle on and spindle off delays are set to 0.
agrifabs

Post by agrifabs »

thanks both, that worked a treat! looks like im experimenting for the rest of the afternoon!
agrifabs

Post by agrifabs »

just another quick question, ive designed a a small logo in autocad, it has text in it, i save it to a .dxf file and import it into sheetcam, the square box appears in sheetcam but the text doesnt? why is that?

regards

chris
PK

Post by PK »

You probably need to explode text. Not sure of the exact command name for Autocad. Maybe "explodetext".

HTH
Paul
art

cnc plasma, help!

Post by art »

Chris,