Inserting pause after each cut in gcode

Having problems with or questions about SheetCam? Post them here.
Post Reply
QuantumHarvestLLC
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2023 1:01 am

Inserting pause after each cut in gcode

Post by QuantumHarvestLLC »

Hello! First post here. This is not a Sheetcam question per se, more of a post-processor/gcode question, so please feel free to move this post to a more appropriate section if needed.....

I have a Fangling F2100B controlled plasma cutter, and have been using Sheetcam for about a year or so. I use the Fangling Plasma post processor.

Everything works great except I need to have the machine pause for about 10-15 seconds either before or after each cut to allow the airflow to the torch to cut off. If I leave it on it's own, it will make the first cut, lift, traverse to the second cut, and attempt to start with the air still flowing to the torch, resulting in a failed start. It is a pilot arc torch. I added below a gcode snippet. The G04 P10 lines should be a 10 second pause if I am reading it right, but if I change that, it has no effect. Obviously, I am missing something here. Any pointers or help appreciated! Thanks.

Gary

Code: Select all

N0010 (Filename: M6000ST_12-28-23.tap)
N0020 (Post processor: Fangling plasma.scpost)
N0030 (Date: 12/28/2023)
N0040 G20 (Units: Inches)
N0050 G90 G40
N0060 (Part: M6000ST_Circle3_small)
N0070 (Operation: Outside Offset, layer1, T2: Plasma, 0.085 in kerf)
N0080  (Plasma, 0.085 in kerf)
N0090 G00 X6.8547 Y4.9656
N0100 M07
N0110 G04 P0.5
N0120 G02 X6.9586 Y4.7147 I-0.0735 J-0.1774 F12.0
N0130 X6.9586 Y4.7147 I-1.5867 J0.6572
N0140 X6.7914 Y4.6455 I-0.1183 J0.0490
N0150 M08
N0160 G04 P10
N0170 G00 X8.9221 Y1.5502
User avatar
Les Newell
Site Admin
Posts: 3668
Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 8:12 pm

Re: Inserting pause after each cut in gcode

Post by Les Newell »

You should be able to set the end delay in your tool definition. This will make the torch pause at the end of the cut.
QuantumHarvestLLC
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2023 1:01 am

Re: Inserting pause after each cut in gcode

Post by QuantumHarvestLLC »

Thank you Les, I feel like an idiot for not even looking at that. I changed it to 25 seconds, and I looked at the resulting g-code. I noticed that the G04 P10 was changed to G04 P25.

I tried manually editing the gcode earlier, and no matter what I put as a value for P, it still didn't pause for more than 10 seconds. I'm anxious to try the new tap file.....
Post Reply