Scanything (CNCRemote) + Linuxcnc Build

Having problems with or questions about SheetCam? Post them here.
User avatar
Les Newell
Site Admin
Posts: 3668
Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 8:12 pm

Re: Scanything (CNCRemote) + Linuxcnc Build

Post by Les Newell »

I can replicate the fault here but I can't currently find a solution. I changed run-scanything to keep any existing LD_LIBRARY_PATH paths:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh

BASEDIR=`readlink -f "$0"`
BASEDIR=`dirname "$BASEDIR"`
cd "$BASEDIR"
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LD_LIBRARY_PATH:$BASEDIR/lib
echo ld path = $LD_LIBRARY_PATH
"./scanything"
I can see that $LD_LIBRARY_PATH contains both Scanything's lib directory and LinuxCNC's lib directory but ld still can't find libnml.so.0, even though that file is clearly in LinuxCNC's lib directory.

As you have probably guessed by now I haven't done much testing using a rip-environment.
robertspark
Posts: 257
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 12:11 am

Re: Scanything (CNCRemote) + Linuxcnc Build

Post by robertspark »

I can compile and install linuxcnc as debs (that is what I normally do, I update the git clone via git pull and the compile and install the debs)
robertspark
Posts: 257
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 12:11 am

Re: Scanything (CNCRemote) + Linuxcnc Build

Post by robertspark »

whhhhooooo

it works!

Code: Select all

20:15:52: Started
20:15:52: Loading plugins
20:15:52: LinuxCNC server is running
20:16:00: Machine running and homed
20:16:06: Camera 'MICROSCOPE 2' found
20:16:06: Camera opened and running...
https://www.supereyes-store.com/collect ... led-tripod

steady 30 fps and a moderate cpu load ~ 20 % up to about 50% max if i really shake it about (not fixed it to the machine yet just hanging loose)

but it works!!!!!

thanks les
robertspark
Posts: 257
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 12:11 am

Re: Scanything (CNCRemote) + Linuxcnc Build

Post by robertspark »

2022-03-22_20-31.png
2022-03-22_20-31.png (309.36 KiB) Viewed 3599 times
User avatar
Les Newell
Site Admin
Posts: 3668
Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 8:12 pm

Re: Scanything (CNCRemote) + Linuxcnc Build

Post by Les Newell »

That's good news. The X axis coordinate looks a bit odd. Is the machine homed?
robertspark
Posts: 257
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 12:11 am

Re: Scanything (CNCRemote) + Linuxcnc Build

Post by robertspark »

no it wasn't homed at the time but I can now play with it and get some part tracing done.

it was on a 3 axis router with a shared Y, so 4 joints hence I thought it was picking up odd numbers as it was probably looking at the 4x joints for the 3x axis unit it was homed.
robertspark
Posts: 257
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 12:11 am

Re: Scanything (CNCRemote) + Linuxcnc Build

Post by robertspark »

Les Newell wrote: Mon Mar 21, 2022 3:57 pm Are you running 32 bit or 64 bit Linux? What version of Scanything are you using?
If you are using a 64 bit distro, try this version of Scanything www.sheetcam.com/Download/Scanything_se ... .23-64.bin

Les,

what happened to this file?

any chance of adding it to the scanything downloads site please?
https://www.sheetcam.com/Scanything/downloads
caretech
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2023 7:12 pm

Re: Scanything (CNCRemote) + Linuxcnc Build

Post by caretech »

Robertspark: this link still works --

www.sheetcam.com/Download/Scanything_se ... .23-64.bin

The link in the post above prefixed forum.sheetcam.com, making the URL invalid.
Last edited by caretech on Tue Jul 11, 2023 7:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Post Reply