Flow waterjet post that lifts Z

Having problems with or questions about SheetCam? Post them here.
Josh

Flow waterjet post that lifts Z

Post by Josh »

Hi guys,
I'm a complete newbie to SheetCam(We've just got it). I'm operating a Flow waterjet and the only post processor I've been able to come across that works with our machine does not lift the z axis between cuts. Under Job options and then in the material tab I have the rapid clearance set a 0.7" so I think it has to do with the post processor but I don't know anything about editing it. Hoping you all can help me out on this.

Thanks,
Josh
Les Newell
Site Admin

Re: Flow waterjet post that lifts Z

Post by Les Newell »

Do you have an ord file that does lift the Z axis? If so, could you send me a copy.
Josh

Post by Josh »

Contacted Les and gave him a ORD file that does move z axis. He’s gonna check into it for me.
Amelien

Post by Amelien »

Hello,

I'm very interested about this. I'm also using a Flow waterjet and I have the same issue.
I've been using the "MyCNC" PP for about one year. It gives me a .nc file, that I convert in .ord file with Flow's software.

Do you have any news about this ?

Thanks a lot,

Amelien
-
Sent using a Flow Waterjet
Les Newell
Site Admin

Post by Les Newell »

I couldn't create a 3D post because I couldn't find enough information on the Flow format. However SheetCam comes with a couple of 2D posts. Give them a try and see if one works for you.
Amelien

Post by Amelien »

Hello Les,

Thanks for the quick reply.
That's unfortunate, but I love Sheetcam anyway. (We are going to buy a plasma table, and it will helps us also with the new machine).

About the Flow, I think that I'll stick with the method I found: using the MyCNC PP to get a .NC file, and then convert it to .ORD with Flow's FlowCut software. It's too dangerous to cut without lifting Z on the rapids.

If one day, you want to get some files from both PP, in order to compare them, feel free to ask :)

Have a nice day !
-