Inexpedient position of M5

Having problems with or questions about SheetCam? Post them here.
Post Reply
EyeCular
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 5:13 pm

Inexpedient position of M5

Post by EyeCular »

Hi Less,

I am using post processor: "Richauto 3 axis.scpost".

I experienced a problem with a pause function G04, and when digging through the codes, I noticed that the post processer is inserting the M05 in an inexpedient position seen from my perspective.
Let me start with a simple transition from one operation to the next. In my code, that looks like the following.

(- Welding -)
M03
G01 X1044.4000 Y134.0000 Z100.000 F4200
(- Cutting -)
M05
G00 X1155.0000 Y134.5000 Z0.0000
M03
G01 X1155.0000 Y134.5000 F4200
M05

I would have expected:

(- Welding -)
M03
G01 X1044.4000 Y134.0000 Z100.000 F4200
M05
(- Cutting -)
G00 X1155.0000 Y134.5000 Z0.0000
M03
G01 X1155.0000 Y134.5000 F4200
M05

So as you can see I would have expected that the M05 would have finished the "welding" operation, before starting the "Cutting" operation.

When having a combination with a pause the above creates a problem for me:
- Operation 1
- Pause (G04)
- Operation 2

SheetCam does not position an M05 as a finish of "Operation 1" but positions the M05 after both “Operation 1” as well as after the “Pause”, leaving the process (laser) turned on during the pause.

What I would have expected was that the M05 belonging to “Operation 1” would finish “Operation 1“ and therefore be positioned between “Operation 1” and “Pause”, leaving the laser off during the pause.

I have made a snippet code for my pauses so the code contain both G04 and M05, so I am sure to turn off the laser during every single pause.

I was just wondering if there was an easy way to have SheetCam to do this?

Sorry if the post became a bit too long, I am unused to post programming challenges in a forum :o)

BR. Martin
User avatar
Les Newell
Site Admin
Posts: 3661
Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 8:12 pm

Re: Inexpedient position of M5

Post by Les Newell »

SheetCam only turns the torch off or lifts if it has to. For instance if one operation starts where another operation ends it will just keep going. Of course to do this it has to start the next operation to see if it needs to move. In your case the pause operation is not a move so it moves on to the next operation trying to figure out if it needs to lift.
Putting the M05 in your should be fine.
EyeCular
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 5:13 pm

Re: Inexpedient position of M5

Post by EyeCular »

Hi Les,

Thank you for your reply.

When going through the code in the post processer, I did see that M05 was part of the code for lifting.
I also kind of imagined, that changing this would be a lot of work.

The position of M05 is super important when welding, as applying to much energy on the material, may ruin the welding / materal.
When cutting or carving, and can imagine that having the tool "on" (too much) will not damager the material.
So if I am the only one both welding and cutting, then it is not worth working on this.
Especially not when putting an M05 into the snippet code for the pauses works just fine.

Just wanted to hear your opinion about this!

Thanks!

BR. Martin
User avatar
Les Newell
Site Admin
Posts: 3661
Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 8:12 pm

Re: Inexpedient position of M5

Post by Les Newell »

I think your use case is pretty rare. Lifting before the next operation would break cut chaining so I'd rather not do that. Quite a few people use chaining!
Post Reply