Fanuc post processor & cut depth problems

Having problems with or questions about SheetCam? Post them here.
BrentHenry1974

Fanuc post processor & cut depth problems

Post by BrentHenry1974 »

I have been using SC for a few years now mostly for cnc plasma. We recently started using a Quickmill Intimadator 120 for drilling holes. This is our first job we have done with it and we had Quickmill come down and train us to operate the machine so their guy did the g-code for this job. We will be doing more and more jobs with this machine. They are trying to get us to buy Mastercam to write the g-code for the machine. I would like to use SC. I have been trying to replicate the .nc file he made with Mastercam and not having much luck. So I have two questions:

1. The Fanuc post processor in SC doesn't make the .nc file look the same as the .nc file that Quickmill did for us. Should i be using a different post
processor?
2. When i make an operation for drilling and i tell it to make the cut depth, SC crashes everytime unless I also give it a pec depth of the same value?
Am i doing something wrong or that is how it is done?

Thanks in advance for any help.
Les Newell
Site Admin

Re: Fanuc post processor & cut depth problems

Post by Les Newell »

That quickmill looks like quite a beast!
BrentHenry1974 wrote: Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:35 pm1. The Fanuc post processor in SC doesn't make the .nc file look the same as the .nc file that Quickmill did for us. Should i be using a different post processor?
Could you give me a sample nc file.
2. When i make an operation for drilling and i tell it to make the cut depth, SC crashes everytime unless I also give it a pec depth of the same value?
What happens exactly? SheetCam should not crash.
BrentHenry1974

Post by BrentHenry1974 »

Thanks for helping Les!!