stops at layer changes

Having problems with or questions about SheetCam? Post them here.
hsolve

stops at layer changes

Post by hsolve »

As the hedding may suggest, what i am after is, when in sheetcam you setup a layer, once that layer is completed will Mach3 stop and require the start button to be pressed. I will word it differently, I have not taken as much notice as probably I should have. What I am trying to achive is this. I will be using the routing function of my plasma machine (have done it before and has worked quite well). What I need to do is route one layer with a specific tool, once that layer is completed, change tools, reset the top of the material to suite the new tool and complete the next layer. Having the process stop for the tool (milling cutter) is crutial. I have already set up the layers in sheetcam and have done the simulations and all seems fine. I have never tried tool changes before so hense why I am asking. I am hoping that this process is quite simple and I am worring for nothing. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance
jim1108

Re: stops at layer changes

Post by jim1108 »

You can create a code snippet that has the required code and just place it between the operations you want to stop/tool change. That same snippet can be used multiple times. The snippet can be labeled for what it is.
hsolve

Post by hsolve »

Thankyou for that jim.
Now what I need to know is how and where to put in this code snipet :oops:
jim1108

Post by jim1108 »

This is an example of how I would do it. If your machine only holds one tool, then obviously the tool number and offset(G43) number will be the same. Your control may not use the G43 offset command. Also the G28 command may not apply as well. The code will have to be tailored to your control/machine, so a basic knowledge of G-Code and your machine capabilities is necessary.
Attachments
LAYER EXAMPLE.job
(15.51 KiB) Downloaded 98 times
hsolve

Post by hsolve »