Page 1 of 1

Flame cutter questions

Posted: Mon Mar 09, 2015 2:23 am
by f_armer
I have a 2 hose oxy setup on my plasma table. The problem i'm having is that after I light the torch, the Z axis will to its touch off(floating Z)and snuff out the torch. I have mach setup so I can adjust the Z axis with the keyboard while its cutting.
So I was wondering, is it possible to set it up so that:
- when I hit run, it'll move to the start point, then pause, without lowering the Z
- then I could light the torch and manually lower it, wait for it to preheat, flip the lever to cut, then press run to make it go
- when its done its cut, lift, move to next cut, then pause again, until i hit run again when its ready

Would it be a custom post? What would be the best way to accomplish this?
Thanks!

Posted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 11:46 am
by Les Newell
First of all use the Mach3 plasma post as it doesn't try to reference. Edit the post (use the 'edit post' button in Options->machine->post processor) and look for function OnPenDown()
You will see this bit of code:

Code: Select all

function OnPenDown()
   if (preheat > 0.001) then
      post.ModalText (" G00")
      post.ModalNumber (" Z", cutHeight * scale, "0.0000")
      post.Text ("\n G04 P")
      post.Number (preheat,"0.###")
      post.Eol()
   end
Change it to

Code: Select all

function OnPenDown()
   if (preheat > 0.001) then
      post.ModalText (" G00")
      post.ModalNumber (" Z", cutHeight * scale, "0.0000")
      post.Text ("\n M0")
      post.Eol()
   end
That will put in a stop after it has moved to cut height so you can preheat and switch on the cutting oxygen. Note that you must specify a preheat delay in your tool definition for the stop to appear.

Posted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 6:48 pm
by f_armer
I'll give it a try, thanks Les!

Re: Flame cutter questions

Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2018 3:57 pm
by asuratman
Hello Les,
Sorry for using this long time thread. I have the same oxy system and step as above, but I use UCCNC. Is the same macro you changed can be used ?

Re: Flame cutter questions

Posted: Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:29 am
by asuratman
Hello,
Again one more question here. I found my post no numerical as seen bellow :

function OnPenDown()
if (preheat > 0.001) then
post.ModalText (" G00")
post.ModalNumber (" Z", cutHeight * scale, "0.0000")
post.Text ("\n G04 P")
post.Number (preheat,"0.###")
post.Eol()
end

Should I change with your post processor and delete the numerical in it ?

Thanks.

Re: Flame cutter questions

Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2018 1:24 pm
by Les Newell
It is better to start a new thread rather than resurrect an old one. Note that for some reason the formatting in the posted code is messed up. The code you need should look something like this:

Code: Select all

function OnPenDown()
   if (preheat > 0.001) then
      post.ModalText (" G00")
      post.ModalNumber (" Z", cutHeight * scale, "0.0000")
      post.Text ("\n M0\n")
   end