Strange milling error that I do not understand.

I’m fairly new to sheetcam and CAM in general so I may not use the proper terms while describing this problem. Its a problem I can work around, but I’d like to understand where its creeping in…

The setting : 14x24 CNC mill. .125" single flute end mill. Driving with Mach3. Sheetcam to generate gcode. Original drawing in CorelDraw.

Lets assume I want to cut a 2x2 hole in plastic sheet. Sheetcam shows the plunge, a move X, a move Y, a move X, and a move Y back to the origin plunge. Mach3 shows the same. When I mill the part that is in fact what it does… however, I would expect the inside rounded corners to match. Instead the radius of the plunge is as expected. The other 3 radii are noticeablylarger. The side to side / end to end dimensions of the hole are correct.

If I radius the corners of the hole with a radius slightly larger then my tool size, the corners all match. And of course I do not have the issue if I cut on the outside.

I just don’t understand where the error is coming from and some pointers would be extremely helpful.

Thanks.

-Tom

Could you attach a copy of the job file. I’ll take a look and check the settings for you.

I havent had time to just do up a quick sample of the problem, but here is the full job I’ve been running. All the holes it cuts are square/rectangular inside routes and they all have differing inside corners.

I’m a little late, but sounds like you have either backlash problems on the mill… or possibly an issue with reaching exact position before it starts to take off in the next direction.

This usually only happens at pretty fast feed rates… you are only moving 8 ipm, I see this typically when I get up to 40-60ipm, the X axis starts slowing down in anticipation of the Y axis taking over, and the Y takes a bit to get up to speed, on inside corners this will cause the effective radii to be bigger than the actual cutter.