Custom plasma probing code??

I’m looking at testing a new initial height sensing method on my plasma table, it currently uses G28.1 I think and the Z-limit as the response input from the floating z switch. Not sure if this is a Mach3 code or a SheetCam post code change?

I want to trigger the Aux-B relay before lowering the Z to probe and release Aux-b relay after a good probe.

SO the sequence would be

Probe request, Z is already at safety height as normal,
Trigger Aux-B relay
Lower head until Z-Lim is tripped
Lift head back to safety height
Release Aux-B relay
Lower head to pierce height allowing for offset as normal,
Continue to M3 etc

Trouble is, while i can do the mechanicals, i have little knowledge of how to achieve the control in my case.
I can tweak the G-code post processor in sheet cam pretty well though :slight_smile:

Any tips?

Maybe it’s this simple???
Small changes to post file, lines marked XXXXXX

if (refHome) then
      post.Text (" M07")--XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
      post.Text (" (Insert probe switch)\n")--XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 
      post.ModalText(" G28.1 Z")
      post.Number(plungeSafety * scale, "0.00")
	  if (verbose == true) then
	  post.Text ("  (Start Touch-Off )")
	  end
   else
      post.ModalText(" G31 Z -100")
	  post.ModalNumber (" F", refFeed * scale, "0.0###")
   end
   post.Eol()
   post.ModalText(" G92 Z0.0\n")
   post.Text (" M09")--XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
   post.Text (" (Retract probe switch)\n")--XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 
    if (switchOffset == 0)  then
       -- do nothing
	 else  
      post.ModalText (" G00")
      post.Text(" Z")
      post.Number (switchOffset * scale, "0.000")
	  if (verbose == true) then
      post.Text(" (Switch Offset Lift)")
	  end
      post.Eol()
	  post.ModalText(" G92 Z0.0\n")
    end

Produces G-code like this…

N0210 G00 X36.000 Y17.475 Z15.000