Which Post And How to Configure

Having problems with or questions about SheetCam? Post them here.
cire

Which Post And How to Configure

Post by cire »

Hello all,

Let me preface this with I am new to the CNC world and I've hit a brick wall with getting my machine to operate smoothly. I believe the issue resides within the post configuration, but hopefully you guys can point me in the right direction.

Issue #1

My floating head does not retract far enough to prevent it from dragging on the material. The torch head goes down until the switch is closed, then it retracts just enough for the switch to open and then proceeds to cut.

Question:

1) How or where do I configure an offset to allow my floating head torch to retract far enough to not drag on the material, then position itself for the pierce? I suspect this is done within the post processor, but that leads me to another question:
2) Which post processor do I use with my setup below? Are there any specific configurations required for my setup?

Issue #2

The MiniTHC test works great through the controller. The Z axis works fine through Mach3 jog mode. It goes up/down/torch on etc as intended. There aren't any errors noted. I assumed during the actual operation of the unit that the THC would take control and prevent dragging, regardless of the post processor offset, but that did not happen. The THC just let it drag. Once I fix issue #1 I believe I can run another test to gather more information as to why the MiniTHC did not react.

In short, everything appears to work other than the MiniTHC taking control or the floating head offset. The Z axis does move up/down during the cut, but only when moving to the next pierce. It's the initial pierce and during each cut is where I'm facing the dragging issues.

Setup:

DIY water table with floating head torch setup.
- BOB, drivers, NEMA23 steppers are all from Stepper Online. They all communicate through LPT card 1