SheetCam and ESAB

Having problems with or questions about SheetCam? Post them here.
gsfantos

SheetCam and ESAB

Post by gsfantos »

Hi there,
I am new in sheetcam and also surprised on how easy sheetcam makes things!!!
However I am try to create the right code for my ESAB ultrarex uxd-p 2500 with NCE 290 controller (quite old I know it!) and I can not (starting from the extension is completely different as it creates .tap and NCE290 requires .MPG if I know well)
Is there anyone who can help??
Thank you very much in advance
Les Newell
Site Admin

Post by Les Newell »

You can change the file extension in Options->machine->post processor. Look in the 'Output folder' box.

As a starting point try the Esab vision post processor. Do you have any documention or sample files that run on the machine?
gsfantos

Post by gsfantos »

Since I didn't know which of the esab postprocessors to use, I export all 4 version that sheetcam gives. However all of them as extension file were .tap and when I tried to load it , it could n't recognize it , and then I reffered to the programming manual and I read that the extension file should be of type .MPG, which I changed it manually and nothing happened again.
Unfortunately I don't have any sample file, except from the whole documentation for programming the controller with some silly examples in it.
Les Newell
Site Admin

Post by Les Newell »

In SheetCam go to Options->machine->post processor. There is a box that lets you set the file extension. Simply enter MPG in the box.
gsfantos

Post by gsfantos »

Thank you very much. The MPG extension worked and I also noticed that my ESAB requires ESSI format. I copied some programs from the machines library in order to check how are they written.
However the ESSI format from the sheetcam is a bit different and basically the machine gets confused with the coordinates when I load the program.
Any thoughts?
Les Newell
Site Admin

Post by Les Newell »